Chipping Warden Primary Academy

Chipping Warden Acedemy

Chipping Warden Primary Academy is a happy, caring and vibrant school,

- Ofsted (HMI) May 2016

Life at Chipping Warden Primary Academy Life at Chipping Warden Primary Academy Life at Chipping Warden Primary Academy Life at Chipping Warden Primary Academy


Foundation Stage

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is the ‘curriculum’ of the Reception Class(your child’s previous setting will also have followed this). It seeks to provide: Quality and Consistency so that every child makes good progress and no child gets left behind; A Secure Foundation through learning and development opportunities which are planned around the needs and interests of each individual child and are assessed and reviewed regularly; Partnership Working between practitioners and with parents and/or carers; and Equality of Opportunity and anti-discriminatory practice, ensuring that every child is included and supported. The EYFS framework sets out key learning goals for your child’s early development which, if achieved, provide the 'foundations' for all later learning and successes, focusing on developing every child's skills through, playing and exploring, active learning, creating and thinking critically through 7 areas of learning and development:

The 3 Prime Areas of the EYFS are:

  • Communication and language;
  • Physical development; and
  • Personal, social and emotional development. 

The 4 Specific Areas of the EYFS are:

  • Literacy;
  • Mathematics;
  • Understanding the world; and
  • Expressive arts and design.

We help our Reception children to work towards the Early Learning Goals which are the Knowledge, Skills and Understanding children should have at the end of their academic year. Our work involves ongoing assessment and reporting to parents and/or carers as well as considering our children’s Safeguarding and Welfare Requirements.

Key Stages 1 and 2

In Years 1 to 6 Pupils follow the National Curriculum which provides the opportunity to acquire a broad and balanced range of knowledge, skills and understanding according to their individual needs and academic ability.

The National Curriculum comprises:

5 core subjects:

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Information and Communication Technology
  • Religious Education

6 foundation subjects:

  • History
  • Geography
  • Music            
  • Design Technology
  • Art
  • PE

Please refer to individual Year Group pages for more curriculum details.

You can also find greater detail on the National Curriculum at the following link


Policies are developed for each subject in the curriculum and are under regular review by the Governing Body. Please refer to our Policy Pages for more details.

Maths Calculation Policies

We teach Maths Mastery in all year groups using Power Maths. Our calculation policies can be found below:

KS1 calculation policy

Lower KS2 calculation policy

Upper KS2 calculation policy

Phonics and Reading Schemes

The phonics scheme that the school follows is Jolly Phonics and our reading scheme is made up of a number of publications including those from Collins Big Cats and The Oxford Reading Tree.

Phonics is taught daily in Reception, Year 1 and Year 2.

Children read regularly at school both individually and in groups. They are encouraged to read at home and progress is noted in a Home-School Record Book.